I finally reached home at about 10ish after being stuck at work for much of the Saturday before my 21km run. I was not in high spirits but i willed and determined in myself that i will enjoy conquering the 21km and i will do great. With that i retired to sleep.
3.45am...i woke up. i took a short shower. geared up and headed out the apartment door. As i walked towards the car. Rain poured. I figured running in the rain ok laa...i might also singing in the rain haha. Head to pick up the papparazo and we were off to the running ground, the historic Dataran Merdeka where a personal history will be made.
Reached there much earlier so we "lepaked" and posed for pictures. As the time looms nearer to flagging off we headed towards the starting grounds. Figured maybe we could meet some peeps that we know. Papparazo caught up with some friends and we were all encouraging and wishing the best to each other. The atmosphere then was nothing short of SUPER AWESOME. The energy and the excitement.
615am...and we're off!! there were SOOO MANY people so started out brisk walking and gradually ran as the running crowd spaced out more and more. Approximately half an hour into my run i heard this distinct sound of shoes crashing and scraping the tar road...I looked to my right as the sound grew louder it was a man running with a prosthetic limb. respect. I was more determined to run this race well.
I ran all the way the first 15KM and it was already a personal achievement for me. I probably could run more but i slowed down my pace gradually and eventually briskwalked and ran alternately. By then i was really enjoying my run because now i for sure im gonna cross the finish line.
I targeted to finish within 3 hours and it was achievable as the run went on. As we approached the last 2KM, i heard "hallo hallo?!?!". It took me a while to register who was "hallo-ing" me cos i was really tired by then. It was papparazo who caught up with me!!
Papparazo: You ok?
Keify: Nooo...:) (I was joking)
but i was running out of steam. I kept with the program and ran along for the first couple hundred metres till the last water station. Then i just dropped off. I was joggin slowly then THERE IT WAS...the orgasmic words of FINISH in the distance...I gathered my remaining strength and ran towards it like i was to greet a long lost lover. I looked at my watch 2:56, I can make it...and i crossed the finish line in 2 hours 57 minutes.
I was ecstatic.relieved. thankful. excited. happy. and felt every positive feeling that existed in the english vocabulary. Name it and i probably felt it.
Thanks to all the friends who wished the best for me and thanks for all the congratulations! We'll run together next time k
Monday, June 29, 2009
Sunday, June 14, 2009
Another first in this journey.awesomes.
So its less than two weeks to the Standard Chartered Kuala Lumpur Marathon. I will be doing my first half marathon. In fact, all the competitive runs that i did so far was my first time for that particular distance. My first 10km, my first 15km and now the 21km. Having ran for about hmmmm 4 months now? i must say im quite satisfied and happy with myself. It has been nothing but positive. Some lapses here and there but i think i held my own pretty well keeping with the program.
To be frank i really should be running more often to prep up for the half marathon but laziness and circumstances seem to be a major obstacle hehehe but i guess i did clock in some mileage nonetheless. Ran my first non competitive 15km...urmmmm well 13km la hahaha but it was not as daunting as it used to be. Not easy but not hard either, manageable.
Attended a couple of runinng clinics. I find the first one the most useful. The subsequent clinics mostly reiterated a lot of the information that was said in the first clinic, plus some tips.
Ran at the KLCC park for the first time. Pricey carkpark. 8 bucks..wuhhlaaannneehhhh. Need to find a cheaper alternative if im going to run there again next time. Nice place to run in though if youre going at it easy. Pity the air at the time was back. Running in heavy polluted air is no fun.
Today at the running clinic, i find one point very true and useful. To visualise your race. To imagine that finishing line. To look forward to that feeling of achievement. I think i felt it most after i finished my 15km run. It was awesomes pawsomes. The kinda buzz that lasts for the next few days.
I am toying with the idea of doing a full marathon sometime next year. A FULL one. hahaha. First i need to run more, eat right and live right. Easier said than done given other social activities that may cause a few bumps to that particular aspiration. I must say im getting back in shape after so many years. Food and urm *cough*cohol have eroded a lot of my fitness and also shape.hehe.
I made a promise to myself to look good topless by the end of June. Well i think now i cant say that i look good yet BUT better than i did urmmm at the beginning of the year. Its still WIP :)
So people, lay out the red carpet and bring out the champagne cos this fella is gonna finish his first 21km
See you at the finish line ;)
To be frank i really should be running more often to prep up for the half marathon but laziness and circumstances seem to be a major obstacle hehehe but i guess i did clock in some mileage nonetheless. Ran my first non competitive 15km...urmmmm well 13km la hahaha but it was not as daunting as it used to be. Not easy but not hard either, manageable.
Attended a couple of runinng clinics. I find the first one the most useful. The subsequent clinics mostly reiterated a lot of the information that was said in the first clinic, plus some tips.
Ran at the KLCC park for the first time. Pricey carkpark. 8 bucks..wuhhlaaannneehhhh. Need to find a cheaper alternative if im going to run there again next time. Nice place to run in though if youre going at it easy. Pity the air at the time was back. Running in heavy polluted air is no fun.
Today at the running clinic, i find one point very true and useful. To visualise your race. To imagine that finishing line. To look forward to that feeling of achievement. I think i felt it most after i finished my 15km run. It was awesomes pawsomes. The kinda buzz that lasts for the next few days.
I am toying with the idea of doing a full marathon sometime next year. A FULL one. hahaha. First i need to run more, eat right and live right. Easier said than done given other social activities that may cause a few bumps to that particular aspiration. I must say im getting back in shape after so many years. Food and urm *cough*cohol have eroded a lot of my fitness and also shape.hehe.
I made a promise to myself to look good topless by the end of June. Well i think now i cant say that i look good yet BUT better than i did urmmm at the beginning of the year. Its still WIP :)
So people, lay out the red carpet and bring out the champagne cos this fella is gonna finish his first 21km
See you at the finish line ;)
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)