Monday, May 25, 2009

Run Far Far....

This popped in my head whilst i was stressing...If i run 84KM ultra marathon could it mean...


that i am Ultraman? hmmmm :p

Sunday, May 17, 2009

15KM..eh finished d ahh..i thought just started :p

HAHAHAHA. I'm sure you're not fooled by the post's title. It couldn't be any further from the truth. Yesterday morning was my maiden 15km race and like my maiden 10km i was a bit nervous about it. In the days running up to yesterday i was already feeling a lil worried as i have not done as much training as i wanted. I decided i will just be chill and run my race on my own terms, no need worry so much.

Saturday night. I slept at about 10.30pm, the earliest in recent memory. I should get as much rest as i can so i wont feel like *beep* in the morning. 5.15am, got ready..time to go and fight with the 15km monster. As i opened the door to step out of the house, it so happened my friends were standing outside. They just got home from a night of party, i felt a momentary lose but shrug it off and wore my shoes, i said my goodbyes and they wished me luck.

*Rocky soundtrack* So i arrived at Tapak A, Lake Gardens at 6.15am. Runners were already doing their warm ups and talking about their preps and times. Ol me, i was just feeling butterflies in my tummy. This run they gave you running chip so you could record your time. Minum Yakult, Makan powerbar, chit chat then overheard over the PA system "Today is the New Balance 15KM run, runners please make your way to the starting line, the race will start at 7am" (or smth liddat la, i paraphrase).

Made my way to the starting line. I was near end of the group while all the gila hardcore runners in front :p. *PEEeeTTttT* and we're off! run run run run run run around lake gardens..i realized we were just running uphill..im like "whhaaaaa.." but focused..run run run run run run...then as we approached near end of the lake gardens stage, a few people were already starting to walk...Then we approached the entrance of Lake Gardens and the main road. There i saw my "Paparrazo" of the day. I did my jumping pose but i think she tak tangkap! ok wasted 2% energy fer that ehehehehehe.

We proceeded to do the double hills route. Something im familiar with (i lari this route the last weekend). As we arrived the first water station i noticed a fairly seasoned runner that i know in front. Im like ok, he's still in sight so my pacing still boleh la haa (little did i know). Then one uncle ran beside and asked "eh boy we past 5km d ah?" i just said "yahh should be la i think".

run run run run run run...as we approached the dreaded hills i began to pancit (the runner is already dissapearing from sight) i decide i shall take the powergel at the second water station. i half ran and half waked the hills. More walking than running actually :p hahaha. Then run run run run walk walk walk run run run...As we approached tugu negara, it dawned on me that i need to put in more mileage if i were to run the coming half marathon well.

As we approached Lake Gardens, there were 2km left and it was the longest two km of my life! i was sapped out of energy and as i began to just walk again, one nice lady decide to clap and shout from behind as she run passed me "Cmon keep going!!". I was stunned into action!! so ran i did albeit slowly and trudgingly...after pancit and i ran and walk again...my body was scraming for me to stop but *beep* that i said..We need to do this. As i began to run and pick up pace again, One uncle shouted it was just 100M more and i muster the energy i had left and picked up pace.

As i approached the finish line, i saw my paparrazo there again sitting down armed with her camera. As i passed the FINISH LINE!!! i was just sooo happy and relieved. I finished it! I did. At that point it did not matter that other runners are already enjoying their milos, chatting, and talking about the race. In that moment, its just about you and what you've done and I've done it.

After that i hurriedly handed over my chip to the organizer peeps and turned into a Milo Seeker Monster.....

The buzz of finishing my first 15KM made me forget the arduous journey and just bask in that achievement. It made me forget that my legs will be painful. For that moment it was just about me....

After that i cari kawan, cari makan dan enjoy the day :).

My First Running Bling

And sooooo....i've completed my 15KM and earned myself my first running bling (medal). I tell you guys the details of the run in my next post. I must say it was a good run and i also broke a personal record of the other sort...8 cups of heavenly cold milo!!! i also managed to master the art of balancing drinking from two cups of milo from the same hand! :p .

ok besides the point.

Really felt good after the run especially the feeling you get after crossing the finish line. It feels like you've landed on the moon. Ok maybe not of that magnitude but bottomline finishing the run makes you forget a little while about the pain in your wobbly legs :). For my pain i got myself a nice silver karer shoe shaped medal. Totally worth it. I dont think i've managed to capture that feeling of achievement in my words quite well yet. You'd have to experience it for yourself.

It doesnt matter if you finish the race in record time or in a supa slow time. The important thing is to finish what you've started. Guess that applies for things in life as well. This morning i felt a good sense of accomplishment. As i walked to the milo van to queue for my due reward, i looked around and saw happy faces, tired faces, relieved faces and smiley faces.

It was a good morning. Ok next is the 21KM but for now my kaki koyak d. rest. :p

Sunday, May 10, 2009

super beginner's running tips volume 1: common sense

I've just been running for a few months now. I try to go regularly and run with friends who go real early in the morning. But thats the usual time as i find most of these fantastic running uncles and aunties run like super early. The first time i went for the weekly weekend run i was thinking "wahlaueh no need sleep ah?" but now i just try to recognise familiar faces.

In my short experience of running there are a few tips i want to share with potential running aspirants who is need of a lifestyle change (im still WIP) :). These are super common sense tips but sometimes common is a subjective word....

1. Dancing and groovin to Flo Rida or the Black Eyed Peas in *insert club name* is not a warm up exercise. It is most advisable to get rest at home if you plan to run waaaayy early in the morning. You can do your warm up then.

2. Don't take food that can induce violent bowel movements. There are usually no public toilets along the routes that you run so keep off the rendangs, belachan, curry or whatever that aggravates your tummy the night before.

3. Dont ego. You see uncle in front, dont think "dammit i must overtake him". The fler run how long, you run how long. Stamina and endurance is something built not inherited. If you've been doing "warm ups" in Z***, you're better off letting the uncle dissapear in front of you so you wont be reminded how cacat a runner you are :p

4. Be a water guzzler. Generally drinking lots of water helps your body function better everyday. The same applies with running plus with our weather, must drink la. So minum plain water. If you're not convinced...go watch "The Waterboy". He opened up a can of whoop ass just by drinking pure H2O

5. You are your own worst enemy. Its important to keep yourself motivated. The thought of your nice bed, smelly pillow, late mornings and just plain laziness should be banished from your thoughts. Think nice morning air, good health and fitness to keep you motivated if not then think the possibility of meeting a chun chick...hahaha

Follow these tips and you're taking half step towards becoming a better runner :p . Look out for more amazing tips to come hehehehehe

Wednesday, May 6, 2009

I want to have my silver medal moment

400M. Thats the longest distance i've ever ran competitively and it was during my high school years. I won a silver medal for that race during the school sports day. It was going to be the only medal i'll ever won in competitive running. The medal was especially sweet as there were at least 3 or 4 school runners in the mix. I remember mustering every ounce of strength as i approach the track bend while my sports house mates was cheering in the stands. At that moment, i knew i was already in a good position. During the medal presentation ceremony, as they called my name to receive my prize i was just beaming with pride. My parents never encouraged me to get too much involved with sports as they were too fixated wanting me to score an A in all my school subjects. However, this silver medal was a HUGE A for me at the time.

Come 17 May 2009. 15KM of tarmac awaits me. The New Balance run is coming up and this time im competiting against myself. There is promise of a medal but runners must run within a qualifying time. I must say i havent been preparing as much as i should but running up to that fateful day i hope to do as much as i can to be ready. I promise myself to have fun while doing my best. "15KM is no joke" i was reminded. It certainly is not especially for someone who has left the active lifestyle for a long time.

Nevertheless i am looking forward to it. I remembered having fun during my 10KM run and the sense of achievement was a feel good fuel for a long time. It brought me to that moment where i stood on the podium to receive my silver medal.

This time its not the colour of the medal that matters most, kinda think of it, it never was but the sense of personal glory that will spur and push you on to achieve the best that you can do.