Monday, June 29, 2009

The 2:57 story: Part 1

I finally reached home at about 10ish after being stuck at work for much of the Saturday before my 21km run. I was not in high spirits but i willed and determined in myself that i will enjoy conquering the 21km and i will do great. With that i retired to sleep.

3.45am...i woke up. i took a short shower. geared up and headed out the apartment door. As i walked towards the car. Rain poured. I figured running in the rain ok laa...i might also singing in the rain haha. Head to pick up the papparazo and we were off to the running ground, the historic Dataran Merdeka where a personal history will be made.

Reached there much earlier so we "lepaked" and posed for pictures. As the time looms nearer to flagging off we headed towards the starting grounds. Figured maybe we could meet some peeps that we know. Papparazo caught up with some friends and we were all encouraging and wishing the best to each other. The atmosphere then was nothing short of SUPER AWESOME. The energy and the excitement.

615am...and we're off!! there were SOOO MANY people so started out brisk walking and gradually ran as the running crowd spaced out more and more. Approximately half an hour into my run i heard this distinct sound of shoes crashing and scraping the tar road...I looked to my right as the sound grew louder it was a man running with a prosthetic limb. respect. I was more determined to run this race well.

I ran all the way the first 15KM and it was already a personal achievement for me. I probably could run more but i slowed down my pace gradually and eventually briskwalked and ran alternately. By then i was really enjoying my run because now i for sure im gonna cross the finish line.

I targeted to finish within 3 hours and it was achievable as the run went on. As we approached the last 2KM, i heard "hallo hallo?!?!". It took me a while to register who was "hallo-ing" me cos i was really tired by then. It was papparazo who caught up with me!!

Papparazo: You ok?
Keify: Nooo...:) (I was joking)

but i was running out of steam. I kept with the program and ran along for the first couple hundred metres till the last water station. Then i just dropped off. I was joggin slowly then THERE IT WAS...the orgasmic words of FINISH in the distance...I gathered my remaining strength and ran towards it like i was to greet a long lost lover. I looked at my watch 2:56, I can make it...and i crossed the finish line in 2 hours 57 minutes.

I was ecstatic.relieved. thankful. excited. happy. and felt every positive feeling that existed in the english vocabulary. Name it and i probably felt it.

Thanks to all the friends who wished the best for me and thanks for all the congratulations! We'll run together next time k

Sunday, June 14, 2009

Another first in this journey.awesomes.

So its less than two weeks to the Standard Chartered Kuala Lumpur Marathon. I will be doing my first half marathon. In fact, all the competitive runs that i did so far was my first time for that particular distance. My first 10km, my first 15km and now the 21km. Having ran for about hmmmm 4 months now? i must say im quite satisfied and happy with myself. It has been nothing but positive. Some lapses here and there but i think i held my own pretty well keeping with the program.

To be frank i really should be running more often to prep up for the half marathon but laziness and circumstances seem to be a major obstacle hehehe but i guess i did clock in some mileage nonetheless. Ran my first non competitive 15km...urmmmm well 13km la hahaha but it was not as daunting as it used to be. Not easy but not hard either, manageable.

Attended a couple of runinng clinics. I find the first one the most useful. The subsequent clinics mostly reiterated a lot of the information that was said in the first clinic, plus some tips.

Ran at the KLCC park for the first time. Pricey carkpark. 8 bucks..wuhhlaaannneehhhh. Need to find a cheaper alternative if im going to run there again next time. Nice place to run in though if youre going at it easy. Pity the air at the time was back. Running in heavy polluted air is no fun.

Today at the running clinic, i find one point very true and useful. To visualise your race. To imagine that finishing line. To look forward to that feeling of achievement. I think i felt it most after i finished my 15km run. It was awesomes pawsomes. The kinda buzz that lasts for the next few days.

I am toying with the idea of doing a full marathon sometime next year. A FULL one. hahaha. First i need to run more, eat right and live right. Easier said than done given other social activities that may cause a few bumps to that particular aspiration. I must say im getting back in shape after so many years. Food and urm *cough*cohol have eroded a lot of my fitness and also shape.hehe.

I made a promise to myself to look good topless by the end of June. Well i think now i cant say that i look good yet BUT better than i did urmmm at the beginning of the year. Its still WIP :)

So people, lay out the red carpet and bring out the champagne cos this fella is gonna finish his first 21km

See you at the finish line ;)

Monday, May 25, 2009

Run Far Far....

This popped in my head whilst i was stressing...If i run 84KM ultra marathon could it mean...


that i am Ultraman? hmmmm :p

Sunday, May 17, 2009

15KM..eh finished d ahh..i thought just started :p

HAHAHAHA. I'm sure you're not fooled by the post's title. It couldn't be any further from the truth. Yesterday morning was my maiden 15km race and like my maiden 10km i was a bit nervous about it. In the days running up to yesterday i was already feeling a lil worried as i have not done as much training as i wanted. I decided i will just be chill and run my race on my own terms, no need worry so much.

Saturday night. I slept at about 10.30pm, the earliest in recent memory. I should get as much rest as i can so i wont feel like *beep* in the morning. 5.15am, got ready..time to go and fight with the 15km monster. As i opened the door to step out of the house, it so happened my friends were standing outside. They just got home from a night of party, i felt a momentary lose but shrug it off and wore my shoes, i said my goodbyes and they wished me luck.

*Rocky soundtrack* So i arrived at Tapak A, Lake Gardens at 6.15am. Runners were already doing their warm ups and talking about their preps and times. Ol me, i was just feeling butterflies in my tummy. This run they gave you running chip so you could record your time. Minum Yakult, Makan powerbar, chit chat then overheard over the PA system "Today is the New Balance 15KM run, runners please make your way to the starting line, the race will start at 7am" (or smth liddat la, i paraphrase).

Made my way to the starting line. I was near end of the group while all the gila hardcore runners in front :p. *PEEeeTTttT* and we're off! run run run run run run around lake gardens..i realized we were just running uphill..im like "whhaaaaa.." but focused..run run run run run run...then as we approached near end of the lake gardens stage, a few people were already starting to walk...Then we approached the entrance of Lake Gardens and the main road. There i saw my "Paparrazo" of the day. I did my jumping pose but i think she tak tangkap! ok wasted 2% energy fer that ehehehehehe.

We proceeded to do the double hills route. Something im familiar with (i lari this route the last weekend). As we arrived the first water station i noticed a fairly seasoned runner that i know in front. Im like ok, he's still in sight so my pacing still boleh la haa (little did i know). Then one uncle ran beside and asked "eh boy we past 5km d ah?" i just said "yahh should be la i think".

run run run run run run...as we approached the dreaded hills i began to pancit (the runner is already dissapearing from sight) i decide i shall take the powergel at the second water station. i half ran and half waked the hills. More walking than running actually :p hahaha. Then run run run run walk walk walk run run run...As we approached tugu negara, it dawned on me that i need to put in more mileage if i were to run the coming half marathon well.

As we approached Lake Gardens, there were 2km left and it was the longest two km of my life! i was sapped out of energy and as i began to just walk again, one nice lady decide to clap and shout from behind as she run passed me "Cmon keep going!!". I was stunned into action!! so ran i did albeit slowly and trudgingly...after pancit and i ran and walk again...my body was scraming for me to stop but *beep* that i said..We need to do this. As i began to run and pick up pace again, One uncle shouted it was just 100M more and i muster the energy i had left and picked up pace.

As i approached the finish line, i saw my paparrazo there again sitting down armed with her camera. As i passed the FINISH LINE!!! i was just sooo happy and relieved. I finished it! I did. At that point it did not matter that other runners are already enjoying their milos, chatting, and talking about the race. In that moment, its just about you and what you've done and I've done it.

After that i hurriedly handed over my chip to the organizer peeps and turned into a Milo Seeker Monster.....

The buzz of finishing my first 15KM made me forget the arduous journey and just bask in that achievement. It made me forget that my legs will be painful. For that moment it was just about me....

After that i cari kawan, cari makan dan enjoy the day :).

My First Running Bling

And sooooo....i've completed my 15KM and earned myself my first running bling (medal). I tell you guys the details of the run in my next post. I must say it was a good run and i also broke a personal record of the other sort...8 cups of heavenly cold milo!!! i also managed to master the art of balancing drinking from two cups of milo from the same hand! :p .

ok besides the point.

Really felt good after the run especially the feeling you get after crossing the finish line. It feels like you've landed on the moon. Ok maybe not of that magnitude but bottomline finishing the run makes you forget a little while about the pain in your wobbly legs :). For my pain i got myself a nice silver karer shoe shaped medal. Totally worth it. I dont think i've managed to capture that feeling of achievement in my words quite well yet. You'd have to experience it for yourself.

It doesnt matter if you finish the race in record time or in a supa slow time. The important thing is to finish what you've started. Guess that applies for things in life as well. This morning i felt a good sense of accomplishment. As i walked to the milo van to queue for my due reward, i looked around and saw happy faces, tired faces, relieved faces and smiley faces.

It was a good morning. Ok next is the 21KM but for now my kaki koyak d. rest. :p

Sunday, May 10, 2009

super beginner's running tips volume 1: common sense

I've just been running for a few months now. I try to go regularly and run with friends who go real early in the morning. But thats the usual time as i find most of these fantastic running uncles and aunties run like super early. The first time i went for the weekly weekend run i was thinking "wahlaueh no need sleep ah?" but now i just try to recognise familiar faces.

In my short experience of running there are a few tips i want to share with potential running aspirants who is need of a lifestyle change (im still WIP) :). These are super common sense tips but sometimes common is a subjective word....

1. Dancing and groovin to Flo Rida or the Black Eyed Peas in *insert club name* is not a warm up exercise. It is most advisable to get rest at home if you plan to run waaaayy early in the morning. You can do your warm up then.

2. Don't take food that can induce violent bowel movements. There are usually no public toilets along the routes that you run so keep off the rendangs, belachan, curry or whatever that aggravates your tummy the night before.

3. Dont ego. You see uncle in front, dont think "dammit i must overtake him". The fler run how long, you run how long. Stamina and endurance is something built not inherited. If you've been doing "warm ups" in Z***, you're better off letting the uncle dissapear in front of you so you wont be reminded how cacat a runner you are :p

4. Be a water guzzler. Generally drinking lots of water helps your body function better everyday. The same applies with running plus with our weather, must drink la. So minum plain water. If you're not convinced...go watch "The Waterboy". He opened up a can of whoop ass just by drinking pure H2O

5. You are your own worst enemy. Its important to keep yourself motivated. The thought of your nice bed, smelly pillow, late mornings and just plain laziness should be banished from your thoughts. Think nice morning air, good health and fitness to keep you motivated if not then think the possibility of meeting a chun chick...hahaha

Follow these tips and you're taking half step towards becoming a better runner :p . Look out for more amazing tips to come hehehehehe

Wednesday, May 6, 2009

I want to have my silver medal moment

400M. Thats the longest distance i've ever ran competitively and it was during my high school years. I won a silver medal for that race during the school sports day. It was going to be the only medal i'll ever won in competitive running. The medal was especially sweet as there were at least 3 or 4 school runners in the mix. I remember mustering every ounce of strength as i approach the track bend while my sports house mates was cheering in the stands. At that moment, i knew i was already in a good position. During the medal presentation ceremony, as they called my name to receive my prize i was just beaming with pride. My parents never encouraged me to get too much involved with sports as they were too fixated wanting me to score an A in all my school subjects. However, this silver medal was a HUGE A for me at the time.

Come 17 May 2009. 15KM of tarmac awaits me. The New Balance run is coming up and this time im competiting against myself. There is promise of a medal but runners must run within a qualifying time. I must say i havent been preparing as much as i should but running up to that fateful day i hope to do as much as i can to be ready. I promise myself to have fun while doing my best. "15KM is no joke" i was reminded. It certainly is not especially for someone who has left the active lifestyle for a long time.

Nevertheless i am looking forward to it. I remembered having fun during my 10KM run and the sense of achievement was a feel good fuel for a long time. It brought me to that moment where i stood on the podium to receive my silver medal.

This time its not the colour of the medal that matters most, kinda think of it, it never was but the sense of personal glory that will spur and push you on to achieve the best that you can do.

Monday, April 27, 2009

Gelombang Inspirasi 4

What you see on the left here is my first pair of running shoes. The Mizuno Wave Inspire 4. I have no idea how to choose running shoes cos before this i thought, got shoes then can run already laaa...

Little did i know you have feet types, running pattern, need cushioning or need support or need turbo boosters. Sadly they dont make shoes with turbo boosters just yet.

So after much deliberation and feet testing complimentary of Adidas. Me and the Boey Ladies went to the Mizuno shop in The Gardens. I saw the striking yellow colour shoes and decided to give it a try and i was told i need to jog a lil in the shop to see how comfy it was.Felt kinda weird but they're the expert! so jogged i did...i asked for a size 8 and it was a weee bit too small so i asked for an 8.5. They dont have it. Settled for the 8 eventually as it was still alright.

So now the Wave Inspire 4 has become my faithful running companion helping me to run, walk and trudge along the hilly slopes of bukit tunku. Its you and me buddy, lets hit the tarmac!!

Sunday, April 26, 2009

My first *pant* 10KM *pant* rrunnnn...*slumps*

I think if i remember correctly, i agreed to do this 10km run after my second weekend running with the Boey women. When Yin asked me if i'd be interested to join the City Day run, i was thinking like "errrrr...10km run ..me? errr 10km run?" hehe...cos i've never ever ever ran that distance so far in my entire life, so i hope you understand my apprehension. However, after much nudging and encouragement, i decided ok why not. All i need was to train, and i should be fine.


WRONG! hahaha...after signing up for the 10km i decided running in the weekends probably isnt enough training so i decided to run in the taman tun park after work. On my first proper run there..i barely finished one round *gulp*. Nevertheless in subsequent weeks building up to the run i did what i could both in the weekdays and in the weekends.

Then it arrived...22nd February..D Day...

Woke up, got ready. Picked up Yin and her mum then we headed over to Padang Merdeka. When we finally arrived there, i was actually surprised that it was quite a festive atmosphere. There were even families with young kids.Early 6ish in the morning!! poor kids :p. The run was starting at 7.30am, we warmed up and got ourselves ready. We also sempat take a few pics before the race. *looks at watch* ok the time has come...i went into the "cage" and waited for the organizers to flag us off. And we're off....

I think after the 4th KM, i was ready to call it quits but seeing so many runners still so semangat, i cant lose face rigghhtt..so i decided to soldier on. In my head i was pushing myself "cmon keith you can do this..cmon you can do this" hahaha..self motivation is important when uncles twice your age are overtaking you without breaking a sweat!! When i realized we have reached the near end of the run..i strengthen my resolve to run to the end (okk i did walk eventually hahaha). As i approached Padang Merdeka (where we started) i already see people walking back to their cars with their running certs!! i reminded myself the objective of this run was to finish the race and not worry about how opther people did

As i approached nearer to the finish line...i hear familiar voices "keeith!!..keiith!!..woooo!!". The Boey women who ran the 7km run was cheering me on. Amazing what human encouragement can do..they spurred me on.. Then there it was, the glorious letters to form the word F I N I S H. i crossed it, collected my cert and took some pics.

I cant believe that i've just finished my first 10km. good stuff. We queued up for Milo. drank it up...ohhhh heaven...and talked to some friends.

After that ..ouccchhh...leg pain! but it was an AWESOME day.

Saturday, April 25, 2009

huh?! you running ahhh....

My blog title pretty much sums up the reaction i got from my friends when i told them i've started to take up running. I also had "waaaahhh..sure anot" , "huh you can ah?" "*blank 5 second stare*" and the classic "which ger is it this time?". I'd just smiled and assured them i am running for REAL and its something i plan to do long term and not just to scratch an itch.

I got introduced into the world of running by a friend who have also begun taking up running seriously after a hiatus. One of the reason she's into running is the Milo Ais van that will be waiting at the end of every race to reward very thirsty runners who completed their run. I must say the Milo Ais is pretty DAMN good :p. Wayyyyyy different from what you have at home or even your best mamak. While others may have their own unique reasons for running, i run to keep healthy and get back into shape after years of slacking!!

I think its been almost three months since i've started to run and so far it has been really good despite some unavoidable hiccups along the way, missing some runs due to circumstances. I resumed my long run today after a three week absence from doing my weekly sunday runs. My lack of running showed as my feet labored heavily to carry my weight on the tarred road as other runners past me by (next time i potong them back! :D). I did the 7km run today and towards the end of my run i decided that i should chronicle my experiences to track my own progress and share it with my friends :). Hence this blog was conceived, i felt the title was apt as it pretty much indicate how running is a big lifestyle change for me.

I've got a 15KM run and a half marathon (21KM) coming up so i should be training hard hard for it hehe. Since taking up running, i had to give up some late night lifestyle activities ;). It was hard to do initially but after the positive effects running had on me, (scoring regularly at futsal cos got good stamina!!) it was easier to let go. Looking back, if one year ago you had asked me to come run with you, i'd tell you "huh..running ahhh..errr call me yam cha later la" hahaha. Today if you'd asked me the same quetion, i'd say "ok..jomm".

I want to say thank you to those who have been encouraging me! much appreciated. And to those who asked "huh you still running ah??" . Yes im still running :)

Jom berlari lari.